Do i need door pods to fit a component set with a 2.5"d

Post anything electrical or ICE here. ie, upgrading your stereo, or removing looms etc.

Moderator: Octane2097

voodoo_jellybaby2k2
CB-Uk User

Post by voodoo_jellybaby2k2 »

Hi there,

Just a query for everyone, ive just recently purchased and fitted an alpine 7876rb head unit, along with a set of ground zero GZRF69 6x9\'s. Anyways, im wanting to update my front door speakers, without fannying on making door pods etc, as im a student bum who cannot afford bugger all to be honest lol. The components im after are the Ground zero GZRC13 and have mounting depth of 2.5\" and diameter of 13cms (i know they\'ll fit diameter ways, but im unsure about the depth, can anyone help me, or is it just a matter of ripping my door card off and finding out)
My brother said on his polo, he could fit them, but the windows wud go down and get stuck on the base cone and so wouldnt go all the way down, although his is a VW and mine is a vauxhall, and mine dont have leccy windows lol.

Or, simply do i have to make door builds?

Cheers
Adam
Dan_Corsa
CB-Uk User

Post by Dan_Corsa »

The depth of those speakers will be fine mate!

but 13cm you will need the autoleads fitting kit for a corsa as the corsa door speakers are 16.5cm speakers!
sweet_corsa
CB-Uk User

Post by sweet_corsa »

yes be carefull with the comps, Even with the fitting kit, the comp on my drivers side still sometimes touches the metal, causeing the amp the runs the comps to cut out which is a problem im looking into.
Dan_Corsa
CB-Uk User

Post by Dan_Corsa »

Does it just cause the amp to cut out?

or do you get some distortion also?

I just fitted some and mine are distorting quite alot, the gain on the amp was set very low also as both new so breaking them in gently!
sweet_corsa
CB-Uk User

Post by sweet_corsa »

no distorsion because as soon as soon as it touches the metal it causes the amp to short out.
REALY REALY ANNOYING!
Dan_Corsa
CB-Uk User