MrVnz' Corsa

Help and advice section for technical questions on your Corsa.
Please check that your query hasn't already been answered in FAQ and Technical Info section.

Moderator: Octane2097

MrVinz
CB-Uk Newbie

MrVnz' Corsa

Post by MrVinz »

Hi folks,

A few days ago I got myself a little Corsa B from 1999. It's a Corsa Sport (1.4 16V) with the X14XE engine. I only wanted to spend no more than 1000 euros so I paid 1100 ;-) Still very little for what I got I think though.

However... There had to be a few issues of course and since I'm new to the car I hope it's OK to ask you lot a few things as I start using my new old car :-)

The body is in great shape but there are 3 mechanical issues I'd like to ask about.

1) When steering to either side, I feel "pulses" in the steering wheel. It's like the powersteering isn't smooth but spins the wheel with little jolts at a time. What could this be?

2) When driving 80km/h or faster, I feel a vibration through the steering column and I think I can also hear it. Something I should be worried about or does it sound like the wheels need adjusting? (yeah I understand this is very vague)

3) For about 30-60 seconds after starting the engine, the part in the red circle below makes a lot of noise. What part is this and what does it do? There seems a little airfilter is attached (yellow circle) and a tube leads up to some thing in the green circle. Can anybody identify these parts please?

Thanks!
Vincent
PS: This is a Dutch Corsa.
Barraclough
CB-Uk User

Re: MrVnz' Corsa

Post by Barraclough »

Welcome to the site. I wouldn't know any of your answers but I'm sure someone here will. Could the vibration when going at speed be the wheels need balancing? You got any piccys of your new car? [emoji16]
johnny
Senior Moderator

Post by johnny »

First is odd but it'd have to be a problem with the pump or maybe the rack it'd need inspected

Second is more than likely the wheels need balanced